New Brunswick Association of Chiefs of Police     2014 - 2016 Executive


Chief Gilles Lee
President, NBACP

Gilles Lee graduated from the Atlantic Police Academy in March of 1983. He was then hired by the Saint-Basile Police Department as a constable on patrol section. In 1998, after the amalgamation of four communities into the new City of Edmundston, Gilles was promoted to the rank of Deputy Chief of the Edmundston Police Force and in 2005 he was appointed Chief of Police. 

Gilles currently sits on different committees at the national,  provincial and municipal levels.  He is a member of the PIMITS Board of Governors and the CISNB Executive Committee.

In 2013 Chief Lee received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition of his exemplary leadership and commitment to advancing public safety in New Brunswick. 

Chief Paul Fiander
First Vice President, NBACP

Chief Paul Fiander is a 1979 graduate of the Atlantic Police Academy.  Prior to joining the Miramichi Police Force in 1995 he served 15 years with the former Blackville Police Force.  On July 1, 2005 he was promoted to Deputy Chief and on January 1, 2012 he was appointed Chief of Police, Miramichi Police Force.  

Chief Fiander has served on the NBACP Executive since 2009 as Secretary Treasurer.  He sits on the Police Act Review Committee and the Strategic Policing Advisory Committee.

In 2013 Chief Fiander received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition of his exemplary leadership and commitment in advancing public safety in New Brunswick. 



Chief Leanne Fitch
Secretary Treasurer
Leanne Fitch was appointed to the position of Chief of Police for the Fredericton Police Force in June 2013 after serving one year as Acting Chief and seven years as Deputy Chief. With 30 years in policing, Leanne spent more than twenty years in a broad range of front line operational policing roles including: Patrols, Street Crime, Detective in Family Services section of Criminal Investigations, Training Officer, Media Liaison, Special Munitions Team Leader for Crowd Management and Platoon Supervisor. She is a graduate of the Ontario Police College and holds both a Bachelor and Masters degree from the University of New Brunswick and has completed many specialized police related courses over the years at the Atlantic Police Academy, Canadian Police College and Dalhousie University.  While working with the Force, she taught part time as an Instructor in the Department of Criminology with St. Thomas University from 1998 to 2004. Leanne is a published author on topics including Community Policing, Organizational Change, Intimate Partner Violence and other police-related topics and has presented locally, nationally and internationally. She was named officer of the year for both the Atlantic Women in Law Enforcement (AWLE) and the International Association of Women Police (IAWP) in 2002 and 2003.  She has earned her Police Exemplary Service medal from the Government of Canada, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal and the Member of the Order of Merit for the Police Forces (M.O.M) from the Governor General of Canada.

Leanne is committed to improving professionalism, compassion, ethics and community collaboration and crime prevention in the field of policing. Leanne is an active member of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and co-chair of the CACP Crime Prevention Committee; member of the CACP First Nations, Inuit and Metis committee.  She is vice-chair of the Provincial Executive Committee for Criminal Intelligence Service NB; Resolution Committee chair for IAWP; Secretary/Treasurer for NB Chiefs of Police; working committee member for Provincial DPS on Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence; member of the NB Domestic Violence Death Review committee and longstanding member of AWLE. She has been a community volunteer throughout her career and currently serves as co-chair of Safe for Pets Too….In Transition with You, Aide De Camp for three Lieutenant Governors of New Brunswick, serving as Past President of Fredericton Therapeutic Riding Association and a Board member at large for both Transition House and the NBSPCA.


Chief William (Bill) G. Reid
Past President, NBACP

Chief Bill Reid joined the Saint John Police Force in December 1978 after graduating from the Atlantic Police Academy. 

Chief Reid gained an extensive background in criminal investigations and operational knowledge through the many positions he held throughout his career, most notably Polygraphist, Major Crime Investigator, Staff Sergeant in Patrol Services, Inspector in charge of the Criminal Investigation Division, Patrol Services Division and Deputy Chief, prior to his appointment to Chief of Police in December 2008.

Chief Reid became President of the NBACP in September 2012.  He represents the Association on a number of national committees including the CACP Law Amendments Committee and the National Police Information Services Advisory Board.  He is Chair of the Criminal Intelligence Services New Brunswick Provincial Executive Committee and a member of the Criminal Intelligence Service Canada’s National Executive Committee.  He sits on the Canadian Police College Advisory Board, as well as the Atlantic Police Academy Advisory Board. 

Chief Reid has lectured at the Atlantic Police Academy, Canadian Police College University of New Brunswick and other training institutions on police related topics.   

Among the many training courses and certificate programs Bill has completed he holds a Master of Arts in Leadership from the University of Guelph and most recently earned his Master of Science in Corporate and Organizational Communication from Northeastern University.  

Bill is active in his community and is a member of the local Salvation Army Advisory Board.  

Chief Reid is an Aide-de-Camp for the Lte. Governor of New Brunswick and has served in this capacity on numerous occasions for three serving  Lt. Governors.  In 2013 Chief Reid received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition of his exemplary leadership and commitment to advancing public safety in New Brunswick.




Past Presidents


2014 - 2016

Chief Gilles Lee

Edmundston Police Force

2012 - 2014
Chief William G. Reid
Saint John Police Force
2010 - 2012
Chief Stephen McIntyre
Rothesay Regional Police Force
2008 - 2010
Chief Barry MacKnight
Fredericton Police Force 
2006 - 2008
Chief Allen G. Bodechon
Saint John Police Force
2004 - 2006
Chief Earl Campbell
Miramichi Police Force
2003 - 2004
Chief Earl Campbell
Miramichi Police Force  
2001 - 2003
Chief Clarence (Butch) E. Cogswell
Saint John Police Force  
1999 – 2001
Deputy Chief L. Chipperfield
Fredericton Police Department
1998 – 1999
A/Commr. G. Loepply
RCMP “J” Divison
1997 – 1998
Chief R. Cronkhite
Miramichi Police Department
1996 – 1997
Chief T. Rouse
Dieppe Police Department
1995 – 1996
Chief T. Rouse
Dieppe Police Department
1994 – 1995
1993 – 1994
Chief L. H. Armstrong
Bathurst Police Force
1992 – 1993
Chief R. Fortin
Edmundston Police Fore
1991 – 1992
Chief D. J. Sherwood
Saint John Police Force
1990 – 1991
Chief D. J. Sherwood
Saint John Police Force
1989 – 1990
Chief N. Penney
St. Stephen Police Force
1988 – 1989
Chief D. Newton
Newcastle Police Department
1987 – 1988
Chief M. Quigley
Dalhousie Police Department
1987 – 1988
Chief R. Riley
Saint John Police Force
1986 – 1987
Chief J. Clarke
Sussex Police Department
1985 – 1986
D/Chief E. Huzulak
B.N.P.P. Regional Police Force
1984 – 1985
Chief G. Carlisle
Fredericton Police Department
1983 – 1984
Chief R. Lauigne
Shediac Police Department
1982 – 1983
Chief G. Cohoon
Moncton Police Department
1981 – 1982
D. Chief Cronkhite
Fredericton Police Department
1980 – 1981
Chief D. Newton
Newcastle Police Department
1979 – 1980
Chief D. Allen
Chatham Police Department
1978 – 1979
Chief D. Camp
Bathurst Police Department
1977 – 1978
Chief Lionel Poirier
Fredericton Police Department

Member Agencies